Who Governs the District?

The District is governed by a 27 member board pursuant to Indiana Code 13-21 et al. The business and affairs of the District are managed by persons listed below representing the Board of Directors. The Board is represented by one member appointed by the county executive from its membership; two members appointed from the county fiscal body appointed by its membership; the executive of each second or third class city; one member of the fiscal body of each town appointed by the fiscal body; one member of the legislative body of that municipality; and if a local government unit in the county has an operating final disposal facility located within the unit's jurisdiction, one member of the unit's board of public works is appointed by the board of public works.

The board holds meetings generally on the third Thursday of alternating months at the Lake County Government Center Auditorium, 2293 North Main Street, Crown Point at 6:00 PM. The Board is responsible for approving all financial matters and creating and implementing policy and ordinances as needed to carry out the District's programs.

The Board

Chair Dave Hamm, Hammond

Christine Cid, East Chicago

Controller John Petalas

Board Members

Cedar Lake -
Robert Carnahan
Lake County Council -
Christine Cid
Crown Point -
Mayor David Uran / *appointee Robert Clemons
Lake County Council -
David Hamm
Dyer -
Alan Brooks
Lake Station -
Mayor Christopher Anderson / * appointee Rick Long
East Chicago -
Mayor Anthony Copeland / *appointee Lenny Franciski
Lowell –
Will Farrellberg
East Chicago -
William Allen
Merrillville -
Chrissy Barron
Gary -
Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson/ *appointee Mary Brown
Munster -
David Nellans
Gary -
Munster -
Joseph Simonetto
Griffith -
Rick Ryfa
New Chicago -
Brenda Swallow
Griffith -
Jim Marker
St. John -
Hammond -
Mayor Thomas McDermott, Jr. / * appointee Dan Spitale
Schererville -
Michael Troxell
Hammond -
Bill Emerson
Schneider -
Stephen Wilson
Highland -
Bernie Zemen
Whiting -
Mayor Stahura /  *appointee Tom Michniewicz
Hobart -
Mayor Snedecor / * appointee Dan Waldrop
Winfield -
Tim Clayton
Lake County Commissioner -
Jerry Tippy


Website development by Americaneagle.com